Plug readers please!

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

jtb032295
Plug readers please!

Post by jtb032295 »

So here's a few pics.. 355, 3310 carb, timing set a 35* locked, 93 octane pump fuel, Autolite 26 plugs. Disregard #8 in the lineup pic, I had to change a plug after the heat and a junky used one was all I had.. The actual #8 plug is the one that is cut at the threads.

I've read that the "black oxide" finish plugs are not desirable for plug reading due to the lack of burn off around the base circle/threads.. I do plan to switch ASAP..

Thanks guys! Any input is appreciated!! I'm very new to plug reading but I'm trying to get a grasp on it.. I'll save someone a breath by saying I have been ALL OVER the internet reading about this topic lol :D
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
FC-Pilot
HotPass
HotPass

Re: Plug readers please!

Post by FC-Pilot »

WOW, a 26 is a hot plug. If I have to use a cheap plug for a performance SBC I usually start with a 24. 25 is what comes in the chevy trucks that had marginal performance and low compression. What are the rest of your engine specs and what is the application?

Paul
"It's a fine line between clever and stupid." David St. Hubbins
statsystems
Guru
Guru

Post by statsystems »

Get a plug that you can read the shell on first. But you already knew that.

Unless you have a stocker, that's a hot plug. Looks to me like you have it very fat at idle and mid throttle, to keep it from killing itself at WOT.
user-612937456

Post by user-612937456 »

statsystems wrote:Get a plug that you can read the shell on first. But you already knew that.

Unless you have a stocker, that's a hot plug. Looks to me like you have it very fat at idle and mid throttle, to keep it from killing itself at WOT.
WoW how can you tell what it is its at idle or mid rpm?