Rottler micrometer

Post photos/videos of anything* you own - Or, ask to see something.

Moderator: Team

Post Reply
HREperformance
Member
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:19 am
Location: Kentucky

Rottler micrometer

Post by HREperformance » Sun May 10, 2015 12:55 am

So I searched everywhere to purchase a Rottler 1 1/2 stub bar micrometer with no luck, so I scratched around the shop and found enough stuff to make one 1 1/2 - 3 1/2 . Now all I need to do is grind a carbide standard so I can calibrate it.

PackardV8
Guru
Guru
Posts: 5072
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 2:03 pm

Re: Rottler micrometer

Post by PackardV8 » Sun May 10, 2015 6:32 pm

Nicely done.

Does the standard require carbide? Yes for a production shop using it all day every day; for occasional use, maybe not.
Jack Vines
Studebaker-Packard V8 Limited
Obsolete Engineering

HREperformance
Member
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:19 am
Location: Kentucky

Re: Rottler micrometer

Post by HREperformance » Sun May 10, 2015 7:46 pm

Thanks! I faced the anvil to a mirror finish with my valve grinder the setting fixture works great. I make a lot of tooling that is hard to find and it saves money and keeps some of these old machines going. I don't see how people loose important parts of machines like tooling and such.

Post Reply