Site Admin
Gentlemen Racers

Post by speedtalk »

Nice article on how to be a nice guy :D
http://racingarticles.com/article_racing-38.html
Tami Eggleston

Nice Guys

Post by Tami Eggleston »

As a social psychologist, I find it sad that our society encourages people to be aggressive, mean-spirited, and in general bad sports. The ironic thing is that many premiere athletes are both awesome in their sport and awesome people. As you work on being a better racer, you just might notice that these same traits may make you a better person.
The old notion that "nice guys finish last" is probably not the case, because nice guys are going to get more help, be able to obtain more sponsors, and certainly be happier and more motived than the non-nice guy....and they are certainly going to have a lot more people in victory circle! 8)
teamdirt

Post by teamdirt »

As a father of my seventeen year old racer it is a challenge to teach him to remain calm among some very irate drivers. And although we might not have finished in first place, we have gained the respect of many because of our easy going attitude on and off the track, As he matures i hope he has a sence that racing is just what you make of it win or loose, :) :)
Tami

Nice guy at 17...

Post by Tami »

The time to teach sportsmanship is when people are young...I do beleive you can teach an old dog new tricks, but it is just a whole lot harder!