Benefits of a vacuum pump

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

banjo
Expert
Expert

Benefits of a vacuum pump

Post by banjo »

Just curious what benefits do you gain by running a vacuum pump? Why does it actually make better power? How does it help the ring seat?

Also I am curious to here hp/et gains that people have gained. I have one coming and I am hoping that it will help seal up a worn motor. Also any tips to using one will greatly be appreciated. I am new to running one.

Thanks
Procision-Auto
Guru
Guru

Post by Procision-Auto »

This thread should answer some of your questions:

https://www.speed-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... acuum+pump
bigjoe1
Show Guest
Show Guest

vacuum pumps

Post by bigjoe1 »

On a nice ,well broken in 406 Chevy that was making 650 HP, The pump was only good for 3 or 4 HP. This was stock rings, no gas ports. On two differant race engines, 043,043 and 3 mm, with gas ports, I saw a 50 plus HP increase. If you dont have any blowby, it almost doed nothing, if you have a real light tension ring package, with gas ports, it can rally make a big differance. I dont know what it will do for your engine.

JOE SHERMAN RACING ENGINES
banjo
Expert
Expert

Post by banjo »

I have a theory on why it builds hp in loose motors and nothing in tight motors. Could it be introducing vacuum into the crank case helps the engine in the intake stroke by increasing the vacuum in the cylinder. This in turn increases the amount of air/fuel mixture that gets into the cylinder. Maybe even sucks out a little residual exhaust. This would result in a cleaner charge in the cylinder and results in more cylinder pressure. In a sealed up motor nothing is getting by the rings so it doesn't help. What do you guys think, Is this reasonable?

Does nascar or prostock run vacuum pumps?

Also has anybody measured engine vacuum before and after the addition of a vacuum pump?
randy331
Guru
Guru

Post by randy331 »