Valve Spring Truth?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Cammer
Pro
Pro
Valve Spring Truth?

Post by Cammer »

I am asking members to take a serious look at valve spring pressures.

Members of this forum regularly recommend very high spring pressures.

I am questioning the validity of this practice.

IMHO, out of control spring harmonics and related spring surge are responsible for alot of valvetrain problems and adding spring pressure is often used as a band-aid to mask poor engineering! This added spring pressure can increase heat and friction, and cost power.

I am playing the devil's advocate to get members to examine the science they are using in spring selection.

If racing is to grow, we must also grow and challenge the practices we employ!

A Lion In Winter
axegrinder
Guru
Guru

Post by axegrinder »

I only build two or three motors per year and I'm still learning all the time so I'm far from an expert. What matters the most to me is the distance to coil bind. If my seat preasure is a little low but the valve is opening to within .050 of coil bind, then I'll run it.

Too much spring can also cost you power if your pushrods cant handle the preasure. 330lbs on the seat and .080 wall pushrods were like a rev limmiter at 7400rpm!
CamKing
Guru
Guru

Post by CamKing »

The whole reason we started balaning cams was to allow for less spring pressure. Most of the development work I do with teams, is related to running less spring pressure.
Mike Jones
Jones Cam Designs

Denver, NC
jonescams@bellsouth.net
http://www.jonescams.com
Jones Cam Designs' HotPass Vendors Forum: viewforum.php?f=44
(704)489-2449
DavidHarsay
Pro
Pro

Post by DavidHarsay »

From what I understand, the basic reason people are on the higher rate spring bandwagon is the spring pressure with the valve closed, to avoid bounce and the resulting reversion.

There are many other factors of course.