retorquing maincaps ?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

SB 377

retorquing maincaps ?

Post by SB 377 »

I recently changed the oil pan on my 351 Cleveland. I also got rid of the windage tray, I installed at initial assembly. So, this intailed loosening the maincaps. I started with the middle cap and ended up at the rear cap. I retorqued each cap without moving the cap. All to 100ft lbs. My question is, did I disturb the crankshaft endplay or thrust on the rear cap?
Trev

Hi

Post by Trev »

Hi there
Im not sure what you are asking and Im no expert.
If your asking if you have upset the location of the thrust bearing location in relation to the crank
As far as I know you can remove your caps over and over again and it wont matter a damn.
I presume (and only presume) with my little knowledge that the crank will settle and run in the correct location from the oil pressure feeding thru the slots in the thrust bearing.
Dave Koehler
Vendor

Post by Dave Koehler »

Actually, you could mess up the end play. Been a while since I worked on a 351c but as I recall the thrust bearing is not location pinned and can be moved.
Correct me if I am wrong.

Easiest check is to take a screw driver an pry the crank, gently, back and forth. If it moves, you have end play. If not, remove the thrust cap and reset accordingly.

Have a safe race
Dave Koehler
www.koehlerinjection.com
0260IN3

Post by 0260IN3 »

Dave is right on the money. The thrust bearing is on the middle main cap. Simply check to see if the crank moves back and forth. If it does not, loosen the center cap (thrust) move the crank forward and back a couple times, then move it back and hold it, then torque the cap to your spec and your ready to go. Hope it works out good for you!
Mark

ex engine builder/machinist now living the dream........
Trev

oh no

Post by Trev »

Ohhhhhh