Are Stud Rockers inherently a flawed design?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

xr4x4ti

Are Stud Rockers inherently a flawed design?

Post by xr4x4ti »

This an offshoot of my other thread discussing what I should do to safely rev my engine to 7500rpm.

https://www.speed-talk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=54936

As a seasoned mechanical engineer I have never quite understood why stud mounted rockers are the go to method for positioning a valve rocker. The idea of having your pivot point for the rocker floating out in the breeze on a 7/16 pole that is relatively long and not preloaded just seams like a bad idea.

The current darling of the V8 world is the GM LSx family of engines and they went back to a pedestal mounted rocker with a short 5/16 bolt holding them on and they can rev to the moon without much modification.

Without going to a full shaft rocker setup, it seems to me you would want to just have a base that gets shimmed under each valve with a single 7/16 bolt that goes through the rocker and directly into the head. This bolt could then be torqued to preload the whole assembly.

Something like the Yella Terra system seams far superior.

Why isn't that concept more popular?

If the base underneath the rocker is 50% larger in diameter, it would be 5x stiffer in bending.

Unlike a shaft rocker setup it would add very little cost over a regular stud mounted rocker.

Thoughts?
lefty o
Guru
Guru
Re: Are Stud Rockers inherently a flawed design?

Post by lefty o »

stud mounted rockers exist for 1 reason $$$$, cheap to produce, and adequate in most cases.
PackardV8
Guru
Guru

Post by PackardV8 »

When starting down that road, why stop with the pedestal? Would anyone here choose the eight individual pedestals held down with 7/16" bolts over a true single continuous shaft system? Your thoughts on the +/- of each?

jack vines
Jack Vines
Studebaker-Packard V8 Limited
Obsolete Engineering
Zmechanic
Pro
Pro

Post by Zmechanic »