MAX. effort pistons--Forged vs. Billet

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

swampbuggy
Guru
Guru

MAX. effort pistons--Forged vs. Billet

Post by swampbuggy »

First off let me say that i am sure this has already been discussed before. Due to two factors 1. I am not very good at searching, and 2. things change with time. My engine builder has said that CP piston manuf. has told him that a FORGED piston is stronger than a BILLET piston ?? Would like you folks in the small group who REALLY know the tested facts on this subject to please comment. Mark H.

TRUTH WILL ALWAYS BE TRUTH WHETHER ONE BELIEVES IT OR NOT :wink:
KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Re: MAX. effort pistons--Forged vs. Billet

Post by KnightEngines »

Forged is stronger due to grain structure.

BUT - billet gives far more freedom of design, it doesn't need to be able to be squeezed into shape, so the design itself can be stronger/lighter.

In other words it depends........
Mark O'Neal
Guru
Guru

Post by Mark O'Neal »

In other words...if they don't want to (or cannot, due to limitation in technology (or reality)) make a forging, they'll make them out of billet.
Morgo

Post by Morgo »

Yeah,some oddball engine no one wantto produce the forgin moulds;the billet one from some general forging is just so much cost sensitive.
Or real oddball one just take the bar of aluminium and machine it from that.Than make moulds and forge the piston to maybe onetime customer.
"when uncomptent order unwilling to do unnecsessary the probablity of failure is high"
Mark O'Neal
Guru
Guru

Post by Mark O'Neal »

If that were the case, we'd just use a forging that would fit. Some of these high end forgings have specifications that can't be done on a forging press.

So, you mill them from a blob.
swampbuggy
Guru
Guru

Post by swampbuggy »

Mr. O'Neal........are the expansion rates the same on forged and billet pistons ??? Mark H. :-k
pamotorman
Guru
Guru

Post by pamotorman »