50 degree valve seats in modern hot street builds: is it finally time?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

NewbVetteGuy
Expert
Expert
50 degree valve seats in modern hot street builds: is it finally time?

Post by NewbVetteGuy »

I'm a newb, it says it right in my forum name. But I can't help but see the results from a few of Randy & Rick's builds and EMC entries that are using 50-degree valve seats and seeing decent gains in average torque and power at very typical modern "street" valve lifts and RPMs and wonder: why not?!?

Most of these threads on this subject have been SUPER technical and I've tried to hang with them and absorb what I could but I'd love to see some lessons learned boiled down to some simpler and more salient points for any other Newbs/dummies like me.

My dumb newb conclusion is that it kinda looks like modern fast-ramp cams and supporting spring technology, and top-tier head designs mean that you can get a valve at higher lifts, for longer than you previously could and there ARE average power advantages that can be had EVEN at hot street valve lifts and RPMS...

Question: At what point do 50 degree valve angle's performance benefits start to make sense? I'm looking for an answer within the modern context of today's top-brand 23 degree SBC heads, & fast ramp -high lift street cams.

-I read somewhere that an old rule-of-thumb was that you don't see real gains on a 50 degree valve seat angle vs. a 45 degree valve seat angle until you get to an 0.25 lift to valve diameter L/D ratio (0.505" lift with a 2.02" valve diameter), but looking at a few real-lift examples, it seems that the benefits start FAR before that point (0.364" of valve lift with a 2.02" valve??)...