Moderator: Team

steve cowan
Guru
Guru

dart 215 pro 1 platinum upgrade on 383 sbc

Post by steve cowan »

i am looking at finding a bit more power in my 10.5 :1 comp pump gas 383sbc
hq holden waterpump 002.JPG
this is my ride,it is a 1972 hq holden ute with hj front end bumpers etc,i have had the car for 10 years and completely rebuilt car except body and paint,the car has run a best of 11.10 @ 121.5 mph with a 1.53sec 60ft drive to the track and home again three and half hrs round trip at 60 mph highway driving,i race and test at least once or twice per month but not in summer.
i have not had engine on dyno but i think it makes 500 or so,
i want to rework the cylinder heads myself but i am a true novice at head porting,i have read a bit of theory but never put anything into practice,i have a bit of equipment and willing to have a try at improving the whole engine package,i assemble and blueprint my own engines but i do not work in the industry as i am a highrise construction worker who puts in 60 plus hrs a week and like all you guys here are a bit time poor.
i picked up my cylinder heads today from the machine shop as they did a freshen up on the valves and seats,3 angle intake and standard 45-46deg exhaust,guides are still good as i have done 12-18 months on this engine and a fair amount of street driving.
215 pro 1 001.JPG
i want to share what have done today as far as inspection of valves and seats,i checked and cc the combustion chamber,an intake and exhaust,took some basic measurements,there a a heap of photos i took today and i am looking for a direction to start as far as improving the cylinder heads,i have three cams to choose from and i have previously stated elsewhere the car ran the consistant 11.1s with the 112lsa nitrous comp cam as at the time thats all i had in small base circle,any help appriciated,i will put up as much imformation as possible,answer any questions to the best of my ability,happy to take constructive feedback
215 pro 1 002.JPG