Radial Anti Detonation Grooves

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

andrew1
Radial Anti Detonation Grooves

Post by andrew1 »

This wiseco piston has radial grooves around the piston top above the top ring land.

What is the purpose of these grooves and how do they work?

Ed-vancedEngines

Post by Ed-vancedEngines »

Looks like someone went crazy and started cutting grooves everywhere they could to me.

Obviusly they know more than I do about what a piston needs. I am not a piston company. I am a lowly engine designer and builder.

I see no reason or benefit for any purpose I can think of for a groove to be above the top ring land.

To make it easier to lift the land maybe? It looks to me that all structial strength near the ring lands have been destroyed.

Ed
panic
Guru
Guru

Post by panic »

H-D used to cut a single groove above the top compression ring to reduce heat flow from the dome to the skirt.
SteveS
Pro
Pro

Post by SteveS »

This topic recently appeared on another forum.................and very little arose from the discussion with the exception of one post that quoted the claimed benefits of "anti-detonation" grooves found in material appearing on a Subaru site.

What are the anti-detonation grooves on the top ring land for?

The Anti-detonation grooves prevent carbon-buildup from locking up the top ring. They also help keep the air and fuel in suspension. These grooves knock the peaks off shock waves within the cylinder, reducing the propensity to detonate. They also temper pressure spikes and enhance piston ring life. The presence of this feature depends on your piston manufacturer as some have them, some don’t.
N/A Power

Re: Radial Anti Detonation Grooves

Post by N/A Power »

andrew1 wrote:This wiseco piston has radial grooves around the piston top above the top ring land.