Piston Top Shape and Wet Flow?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

DaveMcLain
Guru
Guru
Piston Top Shape and Wet Flow?

Post by DaveMcLain »

I was just wondering if the shape of the piston top either a dish, dome or flat top could have a significant effect on the wet flow into the cylinder... At first it seems like it would always be out of the way but at the beginning of the induction cycle its right up there for a while too. Could and or does it tend to deflect fuel up toward the chamber in some cases or does it tend to collect fuel that would otherwise spray onto the cylinder wall?
panic
Guru
Guru

Re: Piston Top Shape and Wet Flow?

Post by panic »

IDK, but during overlap it's half of the chamber shape, and any surface irregularity interrupts cross-flow.
DCal
Expert
Expert

Post by DCal »

Well I suspect that this will be many pages long but I have some piston experience that may be of some help. Because the inlet is started by the last of the exhaust cycle it gets some pull in that direction and then it has to get around the intake valve, were OK to this point but now there's a huge dome in the way. I know the piston is moving downwards at this point and ignition IS going to happen but you may not be getting the best burn possible. We've proven this time after time that once you've achieved adequate compression the rest is just bragging rights and you've narrowed up the tuning window as well. A SBC can get a .600 dome but almost every time a .400 dome will make the same or more power and with less timing and maybe less jet.