350 with no main caps

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

cuisinartvette
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Valencia Ca

350 with no main caps

Post by cuisinartvette » Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:21 pm

Located a nice clean std bore 4 bolt main block
Cant see where it has any caps..after storing a set of yrs gave mine away

Asuuming it would be a pain to buy a set then have them machined to fit properly or no?

What Im asking is pass on this or not, price is right.

statsystems
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:17 am

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by statsystems » Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:23 pm

Unless it's a numbers matching deal I'd pass.

mag2555
Guru
Guru
Posts: 2072
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2011 11:31 am

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by mag2555 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:12 pm

Not worth it even if free unless as posted you need the VIN to match something!

ProPower engines
Guru
Guru
Posts: 6854
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: VICTORIA BC CANADA

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by ProPower engines » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:43 pm

statsystems wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:23 pm
Unless it's a numbers matching deal I'd pass.
X 2
It would make a good table to cut stuff outside the shop though #-o
Pass on it even if its free. The time and cost is more then its worth unless its a DZ 302 block then maybe its worth keeping
Real Race Cars Don't Have Doors

dwilliams
Expert
Expert
Posts: 923
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:00 am

Post by dwilliams » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:13 pm

If having the block align-honed was on your budget anyway, then putting new caps on would be no big deal. You could upgrade to splayed-bolt caps if you can't locate some used factory caps.

Otherwise, unless there's a particular shortage of 350 Chevy blocks in your area or you can get a super deal on having caps fitted to the one you have, you'd probably be better off looking for another block.

User avatar
af2
Guru
Guru
Posts: 6091
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA :Northern Foothills

Re:

Post by af2 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:31 pm

dwilliams wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:13 pm
If having the block align-honed was on your budget anyway, then putting new caps on would be no big deal. You could upgrade to splayed-bolt caps if you can't locate some used factory caps.

Otherwise, unless there's a particular shortage of 350 Chevy blocks in your area or you can get a super deal on having caps fitted to the one you have, you'd probably be better off looking for another block.
THIS..........

And the fact when I need a good 350 bore there is none to be found.
GURU is only a name.
Adam

User avatar
BOOT
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Michigan

Re:

Post by BOOT » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:57 pm

dwilliams wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:13 pm
You could upgrade to splayed-bolt caps if you can't locate some used factory caps.
Don't they use 2 bolt blocks for splayed cap install?
I know as much as I can learn and try to keep an open mind to anything!

If I didn't overthink stuff I wouldn't be on speedtalk!

User avatar
af2
Guru
Guru
Posts: 6091
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Grass Valley, CA :Northern Foothills

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by af2 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:07 pm

Nope. They can use both as the registers have to be cut anyway.
GURU is only a name.
Adam

cgarb
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1382
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:50 am
Location: Maryland

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by cgarb » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:02 pm

I know it can be done but, don't the unused holes make that area crack prone? Wouldn't he be better to get a steel replacement cap and use the original 4 bolt holes?

User avatar
modok
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:50 am

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by modok » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:45 pm

I do line boring. Labor about 250 plus the cost of new or used caps.
Currently have plenty of used caps.

I'd rather be doin that than line boring this 1929 tractor, it's using all my brain juice to figure it out :cry:
Glen Urban

machinedave
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1000
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:08 am

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by machinedave » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:46 pm

Not worth it when good 350 blocks with caps are only $50.

The Radius Kid
Expert
Expert
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 6:46 pm

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by The Radius Kid » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:58 am

cuisinartvette wrote:
Tue Oct 17, 2017 12:21 pm
Located a nice clean std bore 4 bolt main block
Cant see where it has any caps..after storing a set of yrs gave mine away

Asuuming it would be a pain to buy a set then have them machined to fit properly or no?

What Im asking is pass on this or not, price is right.
What are your plans for the engine?
The Nazis didn't lose WWII,they just changed uniforms.Now they run the place.

pdq67
Guru
Guru
Posts: 6316
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by pdq67 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:31 am

Some here have mentioned installing, "splayed", 4-bolt main caps on his block.

So just what are the rpm and hp levels that begin to require doing it? I probably need to think about boost pressure and NOS use also.

Thanks,

pdq67

cuisinartvette
Guru
Guru
Posts: 1367
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:39 pm
Location: Valencia Ca

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by cuisinartvette » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:41 am

radius kid either a spare for my own or another hot street type build nothing crazy

on availabilty never see them come up
when they do you see the usual "super rare 010 high nickel" bs they want $500 or more for old junk.
still waiting to find a 5.3 or 6.0 core for my 02 truck wtih a realistic price.
Cl is mostly the same flippers and chop shops peddling the same stuff.

stealth
Expert
Expert
Posts: 987
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:37 am

Re: 350 with no main caps

Post by stealth » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:58 am

pdq67 wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 10:31 am
Some here have mentioned installing, "splayed", 4-bolt main caps on his block.

So just what are the rpm and hp levels that begin to require doing it? I probably need to think about boost pressure and NOS use also.

Thanks,

pdq67
If you're thinking you need spayed steel caps....you should be thinking A/M block........

Just my 2c
The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man.

Post Reply