F20C rebuild

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

wrightcomputing
F20C rebuild

Post by wrightcomputing »

Hi all,

I'm new here but this forum was recommended from the Locost forum. I built Scrap Metal a tube frame DMod Autocross car that had an F22C (Honda S2000) engine. The car can pull close to 2G when autocrossing. I destroked the engine to 2.0 by swapping the crank rods and pistons from an F20C. Since the swap I had oiling issues on 2 occasions the first the cams went dry and basically seized. I replaced them with the spare set from the junk F20C I bought. Then I got rod knock in cylinder 3 which turned out to be a spun bearing.

I am currently rebuilding the engine, I have no experience but am a keen learner and looking to do it right this time so the engine last a long time. The engine is completely apart and I am slowly going through cleaning everything to make sure all the crap from the spun rod is gone. I have had the crank repaired with a 0.25mm grind and ordered oversized race bearings for it. I have also ordered 12.5:1 compression pistons and lightweight connecting rods as I needed a new rod anyway and now is the time to increase the compression. I am also working on getting a drysump kit from the UK to hopefully prevent any future oil issues.

My goal is to fairly safely get as much power from the engine on a reasonable budget. For autocross I probably only put 200 miles per year but very hard miles. The class allows up to 2.0L Naturally aspirated. I will run the engine on E85 once it is rebuilt.

Anyone know where I push the RPM to. When it was a 2.2 it handled 9,000 rpm fine. Now with the 2.0 I plan to go a little higher maybe 9400 due to lower piston speeds. For autocross the extra speed in 2nd gear is crucial. I am currently around 73mph at 9,000 in 2nd (3.72 rear end). Getting closer to 80mph is ideal.