Ram Air inlet location

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

cgarb
Guru
Guru

Ram Air inlet location

Post by cgarb »

My Dad and I were talking about what things we could try and do to my race car this year and the idea of trying a ram air system was brought up. I run a flat hood on my car now with no scoop, I had a small scoop on the steel hood, but when my glass hood showed up I just put it on and never added the scoop. I have plenty of carb to hood clearance and it didn't seem to bother it any, the look kind of grew on me so I just left it as it is. He was watching pro stock, seeing that they took the scoops away and they are using some sort of ram air type set up he thought I would be neat to give it a try. Spectre offers a dual 4" inlet carb hat that I was looking at using to seal to the main body. My car is a Buick Skylark and the headlights are round, I am no expert on aerodynamics but, I was wondering if picking up air from the headlight area or from scoops low to the ground below the bumper would be better? Any experience or input is appreciated, Thanks
MadBill
Guru
Guru

Re: Ram Air inlet location

Post by MadBill »

Any bluff forward-facing surface on the front of the car will work, but the air is likely cleaner and cooler at headlight level, plus there will be fewer bends in the hoses. BTW, ram air is an inexpensive and worthwhile mod but 90% of the benefit will be from the cold air, not the ram pressure.
Felix, qui potuit rerum cognscere causas.

Happy is he who can discover the cause of things.
cgarb
Guru
Guru

Post by cgarb »