fire ring on head gaskets hang over into cyl bore

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

Cheapstreetduster

fire ring on head gaskets hang over into cyl bore

Post by Cheapstreetduster »

guys i am trying to fit new Cometic mls head gaskets onto my small block mopar.The fire ring hangs over into the cyl on the top off all 4 bores on the block. it worse on the drivers side. the gaskets line up centered over the cylinder heads so technically the heads are or would be installed off center also. the block bores are 4.03 and the fire ring on the gaskets are 4.04 so mathematically i have clearance. I dont want to modify the dowel holes on the gaskets. Is there an offset towel pin i can acquire to re align my cyl heads and gaskets.
what is the procedure to remedy this issue.?
mechanical engineer, carpenter by trade,love racing engines in general, drag race in the NMCA fastest street car cheapstreet class. i am a doit yourselfer
Cheapstreetduster

Re: fire ring on head gaskets hang over into cyl bore

the engine ran before but the fire ring was 4.100 on the old gaskets. so i never noticed it before.
mechanical engineer, carpenter by trade,love racing engines in general, drag race in the NMCA fastest street car cheapstreet class. i am a doit yourselfer
Cheapstreetduster

specs say same as smallblock chevy at .316 diameter dowels.
they are showing 30* offset .. so that would be .030" correct.
V Remian

Post by V Remian »

You are correct on the dowels. I have a SBM 418 w/a 4.08 bore and worse-the prev owner of the block did some bore notching. On a freshen up screwed up and ordered 4.08 bore gaskets so, bad enough but with the bore notches... So far so good about 50 passes. They are MLS gaskets.
MadBill
Guru
Guru

Post by MadBill »