Nissan/Datsun L4 project

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Nissan/Datsun L4 project

Post by KnightEngines »

This is a project I've been working on for a few months, on the final stretch now, it's a 2.3L L20B based engine for tarmack rally (road race on public roads closed for events).

I did the head for this a while back for another customer, it made 237hp @ 7200rpm on a fairly basic 2L short motor, we never got a chance to tweak it properly on the dyno as we ran out of time & had to get it in the car for a race meet - had some valve float issues (ran out of valve spring). Sorted the valve float but didn't get it back on the dyno.

The whole top end has now been sold to another customer (original owner has gone to the dark side with an SR20VE) & I'm building a 2.3L short motor to go under it.

New short motor has .160" (4mm) oversize bores, mainly to unshroud the valves as much as possible, but the extra capacity won't hurt anything either.
Block has a short grout fill to give the bores some more support.
Crank is from a Z22 - straight drop in into an L20B block.
Rods are Manley H beams for an RB30 Nissan - they share the same BE journal diameter but are a fair bit longer (6.05" compared to about 5.6"), they are also a fair bit narrower in the big end, so I'm running them as piston guided.
Pistons are custom made by SPS over here with a 1.2/1.2/2.5mm ring pack.

Some pics of the head back when I initially did the work on it, it has 45/38mm valves & a custom ground 261/264 @ .050" cam on 105 centres with .590/.570" lift.
It was originally an open chamber U67 casting, I welded up the chambers & started again:

KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Re: Nissan/Datsun L4 project

Post by KnightEngines »

New short motor:

I'll get some more pics up later as I finish getting it together.
KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Post by KnightEngines »

KnightEngines
Guru
Guru

Post by KnightEngines »