Forced Induction Modeling in latest DynoSim5 Software

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

DreadFox
Forced Induction Modeling in latest DynoSim5 Software

Post by DreadFox »

Hey everyone,

I've been lurking here at Speedtalk for more than awhile now, and have learned alot from the heads here. I posted this over in another forum with zero responses so far, and I've searched here the best I could but really couldn't find a definitive answer. Background: I've been using Performance Trends software since about 1998 to model various builds but all of those were either naturally aspirated or nitrous setups. This is my first turbo model. I'm modeling a fairly mild SBF 363 11:1 SCR, Weingartner ported RHS 215 heads, TFS R-series Intake with 75mm opening and 75mm TB, hydraulic roller cam 244/252@.050 114 LSA .375"/.382" at the lobe, T4 flange 7875 turbo on at least E85 with boost levels from 10-21 psi. This is a street build that will see some track grudge style racing from time to time. I'm trying to determine if the turbine side will choke down the engine too much with this camshaft so I've been running the camshaft iterator but I'm still unsure about the overall model. I know DynoSim will generate insane unrealistic data if you give it the opportunity...

Anybody here using the Performance Trends Modeling software to simulate their turbo build? Just curious as to how close the model was to your actual performance once the build was complete. And if it wasn't then why was it off, best guess? The numbers look a bit too good to be true on my build using the estimated ignition timing setting(BMEP in the 500psi range at lower RPM....that would destroy my junk for sure) I have two questions for anyone who has modeled their turbocharged setup.