Importance of Valve Job

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

BlackKnight
Pro
Pro

Importance of Valve Job

Post by BlackKnight »

Gentelmen, I am new to the form and have a question for head porters. If there's some sort of initiation I'm sure to fail, so I hope I can get a response. Questions; How important is a valve job to a race engine? Moreover, are there any head porters that doesn't do there own valve jobs?
JoePorting
Guru
Guru

Re: Importance of Valve Job

Post by JoePorting »

It's very important. If you're doing a intake 45 degree valve job, use the Sunnen #17258 bit. For the exhaust, use the #17536 bit. They're both on page 17 of the below Sunnen catalog.

http://www.sunnen.com/graphics/assets/d ... 3b0d7d.pdf
Last edited by JoePorting on Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joe Facciano
justahoby
HotPass
HotPass
Location: In Stephenville, Texas, USA from Thunder Bay, Canada

Post by justahoby »

I am no expert, but by my experience valves and piston ring seal are never to be ignored..
Some people find the need to use a roundout gage to less than .0001"
A poorer yet sufficient crappy job on the valves can show fluttering on a vacuum gage.
If a valve dont seal, it can burn over time, and loose even more compression.
A good sealing valve is power..
As I'm approaching 40,I still think I'm 20. What the hell is wrong with me?
BlackKnight
Pro
Pro

Post by BlackKnight »

thanks guys. the reason I asked is because i had a set of heads ported and the valve job sucks (putting it mildly) and they are leaking air everywhere. it's obvious that there is no valve job at all. no little rings around the seats as i've seen on the web, nothing but light shining through and air flowing past the valve. in the end it was a learning process and i will never spend another dime with the guy, but i'm having them fixed now. i will direct my local guy to the site posted here. thanks again
Zebedeehall

Post by Zebedeehall »