Bearing Installation Seat, Wet or Dry?

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

11secAvanti
Pro
Pro

Bearing Installation Seat, Wet or Dry?

Post by 11secAvanti »

This question has to do with the installation of mains and rod bearings. When the bearings are seated in their slots should they be installed dry or with a smidit of oil? I smear a few drops on the back side of the bearing before I seat them if I plan to store the short block for an unknown period of time. If I plan to fire it very soon I put them in dry. I read it should always be dry to insure heat transfer away from the bearing to the main web. Is this a big deal. I recently installed and fired a back up short block that I assmbled over 5 years ago. I oiled the back side to deal with time and condensation/humidity issues. I do the man and rod cap ends the same way. Again, is this a big or insignificant deal?
Trev

Hey

Post by Trev »

I will reply seeing no one replied.

I am no expert but i do have a few big enggines under my belt and i would never, not ever, put oil on the backs of any shells.
It will stay ther and affect your clearance.

Trev
k-star
Guru
Guru

OIL ON BEARINGS

Post by k-star »

I personally clean the back of my bearings with wax and grease remover last thing before i install them.....So they are dry and free from oil and dirt.

I have never used oil on them. I have been told about the oil changing the bearing size but i personally have never did the research to see if it's true. Or the amount it would change the size.

I really cannot see why you would want oil on the back side????

Keith
“If I hit you with this you’re going to be numb, that’s why they call them numb-chucks “Si Robertson
learner

Post by learner »

I don't recommend oiling the back side either. If your looking for rust preventative, i would use WD-40.
crazycuda
Expert
Expert

Post by crazycuda »

I have found that using oil on the back side of a bearing will change the clearances.